The Rime of the Ancient Mariner

Piccolo Teatro Nexonnais

The poem The Rime of the Ancient Mariner written by Samuel Taylor Coleridge in the 19th century is an almost cinema-topographic text among English romantic poetry of the time. Naturally, it lends itself to theatre. To this endeavour the Piccolo Teatro Nexonnais has given precedence to the trestle table technique, Theatre du Tréteau, thus giving a lively and incisive evocation of the poem

Historical. Visual art. Age 8+

Relaxed performance: 21st August

From its beginning, the French theatre company Piccolo Teatro Nexonnais has aimed to establish theatre plays whose content invokes various aspects of the human comedy.

Price
£6.00 (£4.00) (£10.00F) Buy a ticket in advance to guarantee entry or Pay What You Want at the venue
Times
Mon, 12 Aug
6:30 - 7:30pm
Tue, 13 Aug
6:30 - 7:30pm
Wed, 14 Aug
6:30 - 7:30pm
Thu, 15 Aug
6:30 - 7:30pm
Fri, 16 Aug
6:30 - 7:30pm
Sat, 17 Aug
6:30 - 7:30pm
Mon, 19 Aug
6:30 - 7:30pm
Tue, 20 Aug
6:30 - 7:30pm
Wed, 21 Aug
6:30 - 7:30pm
Thu, 22 Aug
6:30 - 7:30pm
Fri, 23 Aug
6:30 - 7:30pm
Sat, 24 Aug
6:30 - 7:30pm

Reviews

Piccolo Teatro Nexonnais do an excellent job of bringing Samuel Taylor Coleridge's poem to life. The single narrator uses clearly distinct voices for different characters, and enunciates the text clearly and at a comfortable pace, particularly important given the ornate language. The tone of the play varies, as does the poem, from manic to ominous. The physical performance is generally excellent, with the narrator vividly posturing and gesturing throughout, and he matches the tone of the piece well in this sense as well. However at some points the physical aspects of the performance can seem disconnected to the text, and serve more as a distraction than an enhancement.

Overall, it is a great performance of a long and detailed monologue, and should offer something to those unfamiliar with the tale, as well as to those who know it well. It serves as an important reminder, as always, to cherish all things on this earth.

Quaker reviewer A O'C