Little Rabbit

Small Mercies Productions

Ad Infinitum regular Deborah Pugh (Translunar Paradise) plays Susan, an adoptee with learning difficulties, trapped by rising floods as Storm David batters. Staged on a fragment of staircase, inspired by Susan’s favourite story, Rapunzel, it is a dark contemporary fairy story for adults with elements of both realism and the gothic.

Drama. New writing. Age 12+

Price
£9.00 (£8.00)
Times
Mon, 12 Aug
12:30 - 1:30pm
Tue, 13 Aug
12:30 - 1:30pm
Wed, 14 Aug
12:30 - 1:30pm
Thu, 15 Aug
12:30 - 1:30pm
Fri, 16 Aug
12:30 - 1:30pm
Sat, 17 Aug
12:30 - 1:30pm
Mon, 19 Aug
2:30 - 3:30pm
Tue, 20 Aug
2:30 - 3:30pm
Wed, 21 Aug
2:30 - 3:30pm
Thu, 22 Aug
2:30 - 3:30pm
Fri, 23 Aug
2:30 - 3:30pm
Sat, 24 Aug
2:30 - 3:30pm

Reviews

Little Rabbit is a play that manages to consistently surprise and mystify as it reveals more about itself. Staged on a set that consists of half a staircase and a single chair, the audience finds Susan. She's all clad in pink, a colour that she loves, and is more than a little obsessed with being a good girl. There's a flood outside, the heavy rains don't seem to be stopping any time soon and Dad has been asleep in his chair a long time. And piece by piece, through her occasionally almost circular chatter, we learn about this young girl, who may not be quite as young as she sounds, and lives with many secrets she doesn't understand.

British Theatre Guide

Despite the title, this is NOT a play for children!

A young girl whose name we learn is Susan is sitting on the stairs talking to herself: she looks out of the window but makes sure she is not seen by anyone outside – “I mustn’t knock: good girls don’t do that”. Suddenly she notices us and, unsurprised, talks to us as much as to herself, giving a running commentary on what she sees outside – it’s raining, has been raining for such a long time that there’s water all up the road and there are ducks swimming in the water.

sgfringe.com